On Election 2016

by SprinklinThoughts

I’m fairly certain that most of you have some good opinion on which of the candidates (if any) for President of the USA should be awarded that post so I won’t get into it. But I *would* like to address a couple of issues that I believe are important but which I have not as yet seen/heard discussed.

First… since the election of John Kennedy back in 1960, I have encountered, read and heard of, people voting for the “lesser of two evils”. Not only does that expression speak for itself, but I think it also denotes a certain lack of honesty and integrity. How can any best candidate win an office if people are uninformed or, in a sense, lying with their vote. After all, if I really wish candidate C to win but I vote for candidate B, for whatever reason (example: because C “will never win and I don’t want A to win”), am I being honest or helping my chosen candidate to win? BTW… not voting, or writing in ‘none of the above’ (or “This Mouse”) is a vote… your vote… legitimate and important (and I wish it were properly acknowledged/counted). So for this election I encourage you to consider voting (or not) intelligently and honestly… for, not against.

Second… let us remember that no matter who wins or what shape you think this country is in, it (this country) is still predicated upon the *inviolate* principal that all men and women are created sovereign, equal, and free. This is what makes (or should make) the United States of America a great place to be. But this greatness (admittedly under fire) can only continue or be righted (depending upon your point of view) if we *all* stand up, accept, defend, and live within the constructs of “sovereign, equal, and free”… without animosity and with real respect. If we agree on “America, land of the free” we must choose to be (and really *be*) and allow others to be free… being civil, acting always with respect for each other’s rights. [for more see — Unity in Purpose – 10/21/12]

So vote your heart and mind, honestly… civilly… and then, with grace, accept the result… always continuing to act for the good of each other and this truly great (but, IMHO, a tad under the weather) country. But tolerate not dishonesty, injustice, or evil… for although a proper, individual kind of morality (one that truly makes a nation great) can never be forced, it may at times need to be enforced… yet, requiring it by an encompassing example is the key.

M

